Anas Awarded Journalist Of The Year [But Who Else Won An Award?]

anas aremeyaw anas

The New Crusading Guide’s Anas Aremeyaw Anas has been crowned the 2015 Journalist of the Year by the Ghana Journalists Association at its 21st awards night.

The investigative journalist won the award for exposing corruption in Ghana’s judiciary in a two-year undercover investigation he carried out with his Tiger Eye PI team, which subsequently led to the dismissal of 22 lower court and 12 High Court justices and several other members of the Judicial Service.

For his prize, Anas took home a Hyundai Creta from Ideal Finance, as well as a plaque and a certificate. It is his second time of winning the accolade, having been crowned Journalist of the Year in 2006.

The event was themed: ‘Media for Undisputed and Peaceful 2016 Election: The Support of Civil Society.’

Electoral Commission chairperson Mrs Charlotte Osei, who was guest speaker at the ceremony, urged journalists to double check their facts before reporting, saying: “Do not base your reportage on mere speculations.”

In all, 20 awards were won by journalists in different categories.

Below is the full list of awardees:

Overall best journalist:
Anas Aremeyaw Anas

Best journalist in sports (radio):
Benedict Owusu [Joy news] – Juju in football

Best journalist in sports (print):
John Vigah (Graphic) – Accra Sports Stadium: A death trap

Samuel Tei Adenoh (Ghanaian Times) – Crossing the deadly Madina-Adentan road

Human rights:
Gabriel Obodai Togbor Ashong (Metro TV) – Neglected souls

A.B. Kafui (GNA) – Poison in a calabash

Education (print):
Emmanuel Baah (Daily Graphic) – Acquiring knowledge the perilous way

Crime and court:
Beatrice Adu (Joy FM) – Corrosive love

Samuel Ablodepay (Daily Graphic) – Technology to define future banking

News reporting print:
Grace Sogbey (The Revelation newspaper) – No preaching

Sustainable development goals:
Joseph Opoku Gakpo (Multimedia) – Jungle poor

Teachers [print]:
Kofi Yeboah (The Revelation newspaper)

Rural reporting:
Kafui Kanyi (GNA) – My baby my farm

Seth Kwame Boateng (Multimedia) – Candidate for death

Best Investigative report:
John Vegah (Ghanaian Times) – Hazardous waste

Famous Kwesi Atitsobi (Multimedia) – Juice from the baobab

Oil and Gas:
Dotse Kobla Aklobotu [(Graphic Business) – Why Ghana must invest in oil business

Gabriel Ahiabor (Daily Graphic) – Fish for livelihood

Financial reporter:
Elvis Darko (The Finder) – Government cripples bank

Best print layout
The Finder newspaper

News reporting electronic:
Seth Kwame Boateng (Multimedia) -Talented arts in prison

Teachers for television:
Seth Kwame Boateng (Multimedia) – Locked and forgotten

Arts entertainment and tourism
Famous Atitsobi (Multimedia) – Mole Ghana’s wide life for tourism

Best reporter in science:
Rebecca Quaye (Daily Graphic) – Clinical trials not rocket science

Sanitation and hygiene:
Rebecca Awuah – GBC 24

GJA Komla Dumor Most Promising Journalist:
Maxwell Akalaare Adombila

Honorary awards:
Good morning Ghana
Ghana Armed forces
Ideal Finance
Bright Blewu – GJA General Secretary
EIB network
Global Media Alliance